Tags

, , , , , ,

boy-148071_640Jacqui Murray has very kindly nominated me for this – many thanks to her. You can find her original post here.

The rules of this meme require I answer four questions about how I write and then nominate three other bloggers to answer the same questions, a little different from what I did last time. I don’t intended to make this an award only blog, so this will be my last go at one of these for a time. But I am grateful all the same 😉

What am I working on at the moment?
Magic Carpet, which is a modern day urban romance story. It’s about two different people, Sam – a thirty-something year old man who doesn’t want to be in a relationship, and almost thirty year old Cal – who doesn’t know if he can be in a relationship. Originally the story was going to only be told from Sam’s point-of-view, but someone suggested writing two stories, one from Sam’s POV and the other from Cal’s POV. It’s an interesting idea, and one I intended to follow through on. The whole project is actually part of a larger challenge I’m taking part of; “The Assignment Challenge.”

How does my work differ from others of its genre?
It’s actually unusual for a man to write male-on-male romance fiction/erotica. For the last decade-or-so it has been a field dominated by female authors. I figure I may have something of an advantage as an openly gay man writing fiction in an area I have experience of.

Why do I write what I do?
I’m not sure. Romance is not what I intended to write. I’m actually a big fan of horror and sci-fi – and whilst I’ve had a little success in the horror genre, my story ideas tend to gravitate (eventually) to include a romance plot. Maybe I write it because I like it? I don’t know. It’s a question I may ask of my therapist next time I see her.

How does my writing process work?
I sit down in front of the keyboard and write. That’s pretty much it. Oh, at some point I might make a few notes about a plot, character notes and maybe (if needed) a little general research. Setting time aside to get on with it, making sure the household knows to leave me alone to get on with it… But to me, the key factor is to actually just write.

My Nominations, who I guess should be looking to post a reply to this on Monday 5th May 2014
belsbror
Worldly Winds
Ray H

That’s it!  Many thanks to Jacqui for nominating me again, and I hope you all enjoyed 😉

